Advising

  • Advising

    Thank you for choosing Baltimore City Community College as your institution of higher education. Advising is an interactive relationship between an advisor and an individual or group of students that helps to identify, plan for, and achieve short and long term educational and career goals.

    Advisors empower students to make appropriate decisions with regard to his or her interests, goals, abilities, and particular degree requirements by:

    • Strengthening students’ understanding of and commitment to their academic pathway
    • Connecting students to services and support that will help to eliminate barriers to their success.
    • Increasing students’ sense of the value of their BCCC education and student experience as a means to achieve their goals.

    In this office we will assist you with your academic advising needs and make you aware of the advising processes and essential information in reaching your educational goals. Your Journey to Educational Excellence begins now with us!

    The major purpose of Academic Advising is to provide you with the opportunity to build a relationship with your advisor for the purpose of gaining assistance in planning your educational career, and in learning how to access the variety of academic support resources and student services available at BCCC.

    When meeting with your academic advisor, you will get assistance in choosing a major, selecting classes and discussing your academic and career goals. In addition, you can also be approved for on-line registration.

Advisor Contact Information

  • Johnnie Owens
    Director of the Student Success Center
    Main Building, Room 020 K

    410-462-8051
    Jowens1@bccc.edu

    Sandra Agrafiotis
    Student Success Advisor

    Main Building, Room 020 G
    410-462-7441
    sagrafiotis@bccc.edu

    Rasheedah Evans
    Student Success Advisor

    Main Building, Room 020 A 
    410-462-8339 
    revans@bccc.edu

    Saleemah Franklin
    Student Success Advisor
    Main Building, Room 020 B

    410-462-7435
    sfranklin@bccc.edu

    Dr. Kenneth Gillespie
    Student Success Advisor

    Main Building, Room 020 E 
    410-462-8348 
    kgillespie@bccc.edu

    Jeffrey Sams
    Student Success Advisor

    Main Building, Room 020 J 
    410-462-8409 
    jsams@bccc.edu 

    Elena Uribe
    Student Success Advisor
    Main Building, 020 H

    410-209-2370
    euribe@bccc.edu

    Erik Wilkinson
    Student Success Advisor

    Main Building, Room 020 L
    410-462-8436
    ewilkinson@bccc.edu

Hours of Operation

  • Monday 
    8 am - 5 pm
    Tuesday
    8 am - 7 pm
    Wednesday
    8 am - 7 pm
    Thursday
    8 am - 5 pm
    Friday
    8 am - 5 pm
    Saturday
    9 am - 1 pm (1st, 3rd, and 5th Saturdays only)
    Sunday
    Closed